Dr. Vijayakumar Chakkooth

Dr. Vijayakumar is a Principal Scientist at the Chemical Sciences and Technology Division, CSIR - National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram. His current research interests include hybrid perovskites, photophysics, supramolecular materials, and hybrid thermoelectric composites.

Academic Background 

  1. Ph. D., Chemistry, 2008, CSIR–NIIST, Trivandrum (Awarded by University of Kerala, Trivandrum)
    Thesis title: “Design, Synthesis and Self-assembly of a few Oligo(p-phenylenevinylene) Derivatives: Control of Chromophore Assemblies and Optical Properties of pi -Organogels”
    Thesis supervisor: Dr. A. Ajayaghosh, Photosciences and Photonics Group, CSIR-NIIST, Trivandrum

  2. M. Sc. Chemistry, 2002, SNGS College Pattambi, Calicut University, Kerala.

  3. B. Sc. Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics, 2000, SNGS College Pattambi, Calicut University, Kerala.

Professional Experiences

  1. Senior Scientist (January 2016 – till date) at CSIR-NIIST, Trivandrum, India.

  2. Scientist (January 2013 to December 2015) at CSIR-NIIST, Trivandrum, India.

  3. Ramanujan Fellow (August 2013 to July 2018) at CSIR-NIIST, Trivandrum, India.

  4. Assistant Professor (January 2011 – December 2012) at the Department of Applied Chemistry, Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan (Advisor: Prof. S. Seki).

  5. Postdoctoral Research Fellow (January 2008 – December 2010) at the Organic Materials Group, National Institute for Materials Science, Tsukuba, Japan (Advisor: Prof. M. Takeuchi).

  6. Senior Research Fellow (January 2006 – December 2007) under CSIR-NET Fellowship at NIIST–CSIR, Trivandrum (Advisor: Dr. A. Ajayaghosh)

  7. Junior Research Fellow (January 2003 – December 2005) under CSIR-NET Fellowship at NIIST–CSIR, Trivandrum (Advisor: Dr. A. Ajayaghosh)

Honours and Awards

  1. Raman Research Fellowship – Purdue University, USA (2020)

  2. Honorary Fellow– ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia (2020)

  3. Kerala State Young Scientist Award–Chemical Sciences (2017)

  4. Visiting Scientist–Hokkaido University, Japan (2016)

  5. Ramanujan Fellowship (2013)

  6. Member of American Chemical Society (2012 onwards)

  7. Member of Royal Society of Chemistry (2012 onwards)

  8. NIMS–Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (2008)

  9. CSIR Senior Research Fellowship (January 2005)

  10. CSIR Junior Research Fellowship (June 2002)

  11. UGC National Eligibility Test (December 2001)